Saturday, December 13, 2008

Heisman Trophy = Joke

The Heisman Trophy will be awarded tonight, supposedly to the best player in college football. It's a shame that nowadays, it's basically given to the best quarterback on the best team.

Eight out of the past nine years the award has gone to a quarterback. The trend started with 29-year-old Chris Weinke of Florida State and will continue this year, as all three candidates are signalcallers. The only one to break the streak was electrifying USC RB Reggie Bush who was clearly the biggest gamebreaker in the NCAA at the time.

What about the other 21 positions on the field (excluding K/Ps)? Texas Tech WR Michael Crabtree has had a spectacular season, including his last-second TD catch-and-run versus Texas. Rey Maualuga has been a standout linebacker for USC. Can we diversify the positions a little bit? Quarterback may be the most glamorous position, but it is certainly no more important than a rock at offensive tackle or a shut-down corner.

Another tragedy this year is the exclusion of Texas Tech QB Graham Harrell. The kid passed for 41 touchdowns, 4,000+ yards, and won 11 games in the Big 12. Up to six candidates can be invited, and yet this year will only yield three?

Listen to more about Graham Harrell from Jim Rome:

No comments: